‘Tickling Butterflies’ – The Man with the Broken Heart

Continuing the serialization of my epic fantasy novel, Tickling Butterflies, with new fairy tales every Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday. Enjoy the latest fairy tale:

The Man with the Broken Heart

(Containing the disturbing tale in which John the Cute learns about injustice.)

Once upon a time, when John the Cute was eight years old, he met a man with a broken heart.

John the Cute had incurred a big scratch to his shin playing in the woods. He went to the doctor’s office to have the doctor dress his shin.

A man with a broken heart was sitting outside the doctor’s office, upset, looking only at the ground.

“Sir, sir,” John the Cute sat near the man with the broken heart. “How is it that your heart is so broken?”

The man sighed and told John the Cute the tale of the broken hearted.

It all began with my great-grandfather, the man with the broken heart began. He had fallen in love with a beautiful woman. The two had decided to marry and a wedding date had been set. But three days before the wedding date arrived, Prince Charming the First rode into town. Prince Charming the First charmed my great-grandfather’s fiancé and swept her away, never to be seen again.

When Prince Charming the First became King Charming the First and my great-grandfather’s betrothed became queen, my great-grandfather realized she would never come back.

On that day, in that moment, his heart broke into two.

Eventually, my great-grandfather recovered. He met another woman, fell in love again, and wed her. But his heart never mended. It was still broken and in two pieces.

And so when the woman gave birth to my great-grandfather’s son, my grandfather, he was born with a broken heart, a heart in two pieces.

The son, my grandfather, grew up, and fell in love with a woman, as all men do. But on the day of their marriage, Prince Charming the Second, son of King Charming the First, rode into town. Prince Charming the Second swept the bride off her feet. My grandfather was left at the altar, and each piece of his heart broke in two. Now my grandfather had a heart with four broken pieces.

Years passed. My grandfather met another woman, wed her, and had a child. That child, the man’s father, was born with a heart as broken as his father’s: his heart was in four pieces.

That son, my father, grew up, and lived a happy life until the age of eighteen, despite the awful pangs of his broken heart. At eighteen, he met a beautiful woman, and wanted to marry her. But on the night he was going to propose marriage to her, Prince Charming the Third, son of now King Charming the Second, rode into town and swept her away, never to be seen in the town again. My father’s heart broke, as hearts do, each piece breaking into two. Now my father’s heart was broken and in eight pieces.

Five years passed, and my father found a woman he kind-of liked. He wooed her, married her, and she had his child: me. I was born with a shattered heart: a heart already broken and in eight pieces.

“This is the tale of my broken heart,” said the man with the broken heart. “And now I have fallen in love with a wonderful woman. I want to propose marriage to her. But now… I am afraid. I am afraid my heart will break, and I am afraid my heart cannot break into even smaller pieces. And so I have come to the doctor, to find if he has a cure for a broken heart.

“I have just seen him, and he has informed me quite clearly that in all the Land of All Legends there is no cure for a broken heart. I must decide whether to risk an even more broken heart or to leave the woman I love. There is no other choice.” The man with the broken heart sighed deeply.

John the Cute had no advice to give and no smart response. The doctor called John the Cute in and dressed his wound.

When John the Cute came out of the doctor’s office, the man with the broken heart had gone.

It was on this day, at that exact second, that John the Cute understood that there was injustice in the world. He vowed, on that day, at that exact second, that if he had a chance, he would make sure that there would never be any injustice in the world ever again.

This has been the distressing tale in which John the Cute learned about injustice.

(To be continued on Tuesday…)

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “‘Tickling Butterflies’ – The Man with the Broken Heart”

  1. ‘Tickling Butterflies’ – The Blindfolded Woman | Guy Hasson's Imagination Says:

    […] Once he had been banished from the Happily Ever After Home for the Married, King John the Cute returned to the clearing where he had left Chariot. There, sitting beside the king’s cloud, he saw a blindfolded woman with a broken heart. […]

Leave a Reply

