‘Tickling Butterflies’ – The Big Bad Bully

I’m serializing my fairy tale novel, Tickling Butterflies. A new fairy tale ‘episode’ is published every Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday.

Here’s the story so far.

Enjoy the latest fairy tale:

The Big Bad Bully

(Containing the shocking encounter of John the Cute and the Big Bad Bully.)

 

Once upon a time, during the days of the legendary race between John the Cute and Death, John the Cute walked into the big city of Bigger Is Better.

In the middle of the street stood the Big Bad Bully, who stopped John the Cute in the middle of the street.

“What is your name, stranger?” the Big Bad Bully inquired.

“My name is John the Cute.”

The Big Bad Bully made a face. “Doesn’t look that way to me. Right now you look more like John the Ugly.”

John the Cute decided to ignore this statement.

“Where are you headed, John the Ugly?”

“To see King Charming the Fourth. He has called for me. Please move out of the way. I am in a great hurry.”

“Well, sure. But first,” the Big Bad Bully put his arm around John the Cute’s shoulders. “Meet my cat.”

John the Cute bent down to look at the cat, which looked like a big, bad bully as well. At that moment, the Big Bad Bully waved a magic wand he had stolen from the dead hands of an evil witch, and turned John the Cute into a mouse.

The cat immediately ran after the mouse, and John the Cute was forced to run and run in the opposite direction. John the Cute ran away from the cat for two days and three nights. At that time, the magic wore off, and he had turned back into John the Cute. Upon seeing a man and not a mouse, the cat ran away.

Distressed at the delay, John the Cute once more set his path to the big city of Bigger Is Better, which was the fastest way to Capital City and the palace.

Two days later, he entered the big city of Bigger Is Better. The Big Bad Bully was standing in the middle of the street.

“Well, if it isn’t John the Ugly. Come for your second punishment, have you?”

“Please let me pass. My task is very important. I am in a race with Death.”

“Well, sure, sure,” the Big Bad Bully nodded with understanding. “But first, meet my dog.”

John the Cute looked down and saw a dog more vicious than the Big Bad Bully.

“Why are you doing this?” John the Cute said.

The Big Bad Bully thought about it for a second. Then he said, “It’s fun. And I hate you.”

With a wave of his stolen evil witch’s wand, he turned John the Cute into a cat.

The dog immediately leapt at the cat. John the Cute was forced to run away from the dog in the direction opposite Capital City. After two nights and three days of running, the magic wore off, and John the Cute returned to his human shape. Once the cat had vanished, the dog turned and chased another cat.

Even more distressed, John the Cute had no other option but to go down the path again to the big city of Bigger Is Better. By this time, he felt that Death must surely have a week’s advantage over him, perhaps more.

On the way to the big city of Bigger Is Better, John the Cute stopped to buy a truth potion in the market. His mother had always told him that Big Bad Bullies are afraid of the truth.

For the third time, John the Cute entered the big city of Bigger is Better.

The Big Bad Bully was standing in the middle of the street.

“Well, well, well,” said the Big Bad Bully. “John the Ugly doesn’t know what’s good for him.”

“Allow me to pass, Big Bad Bully,” John the Cute said. “Or I will give you a dose of truth.”

“Well, sure, sure,” the Big Bad Bully said. “But first, meet my fox.”

John the Cute threw the magic truth potion at the Big Bad Bully.

“What did you do?” The Big Bad Bully screamed. Then he shouted, “I think I’m stupid!”

John the Cute was surprised. He did not know the Big Bad Bully thought he was stupid.

“Why did I say that?” the Big Bad Bully screamed even louder. Then he shouted, “I hate myself!”

John the Cute put his surprise aside and tried to slip past the Big Bad Bully.

“Why am I saying these things?” shrieked the Big Bad Bully. “I think people don’t love me!”

Then the Big Bad Bully noticed John the Cute trying to slip past him. He waved his stolen evil witch’s wand. “I think you’re better than me, but I can’t stop myself!”

The Big Bad Bully waved his wand, and turned John the Cute into a chicken. The fox immediately began to chase the chicken in the direction opposite Capital City.

For two nights and three days, the fox chased the chicken, until the evil witch’s magic wore off. Then the chicken turned back into John the Cute, and the fox ran away.

John the Cute now felt that he could never catch up to Death and never defeat the Big Bad Bully. Despair washed over him and he began to cry.

Suddenly, there was a slight shadow above him. He looked up and saw his old friend, the cloud. This was the small cloud he had saved years ago in Bambooville. Over the years, the cloud has matured and has grown into its full size.

“Hello, old friend,” the cloud said. “I would recognize you always. Even though you are not cute on the outside, you are just as cute on the inside.”

“Hello, old friend,” John the Cute said. “It is a pleasure to see you again. Excuse my overwhelming despair.”

“Why the overwhelming despair?”

John the Cute told his friend the tales of the prophecy, King Charming the Fourth’s summons, and the race with Death.

“Climb aboard me, then,” the Cloud offered. “I am faster. There are no obstacles in my way. And there are no Big Bad Bullies on board. Come, we will beat Death together.”

John the Cute climbed atop the Cloud.

The Cloud rose high above the city and began to coast through the sky in the direction of Capital City.

John the Cute thanked his friend.

“I would do this for you even if I did not owe you a favor,” the Cloud said.

Together, they flew over the Sea of Tears and the big city of Bigger Is Better, where they could see the Big Bad Bully still stand on the street. They flew over rivers and mountains, over a forest and a small desert, with the speed of the wind at their backs.

Within half a day, they reached Capital City. From above, John the Cute spotted Death entering Capital City on foot.

“Quickly! Drop me into the palace!” John the Cute exclaimed.

The Cloud came to rest above the palace, then slowly dropped down allowing John the Cute to climb down.

John the Cute stood in the middle of the court in the palace. “My name is John the Cute,” he shouted. “I have been summoned by the king! Death is at my heel! Show me the king immediately!”

A page appeared, grabbed John the Cute, and led him to a door.  John the Cute walked through that door.

The events that occurred in that room are a tale that must be told in another story. Because this has been the tale containing the shocking encounter of John the Cute and the Big Bad Bully.

(To be continued on Thursday…)

The Emoticon Generation by Guy Hasson

The Emoticon Generation

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

