‘Tickling Butterflies’ – The Prince Who Wanted Responsibility

I’m serializing my fairy tale novel, Tickling Butterflies. A new fairy tale ‘episode’ is published every Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday.

Here’s the story so far.

Enjoy the latest fairy tale:

The Prince Who Wanted Responsibility

(Containing the fateful meeting of King John the Cute and Prince Charming the Fifth.)

 

On the first three days of his reign, King John the Cute had been afraid to meet Prince Charming the Fifth. Firstly, he was afraid because he was certain the prince would think King John the Cute had stolen his crown and throne. Secondly, he was afraid because of the prophecy his mother had told him:

Prince Charming’s sword will pierce his heart

Two years after his reign will start.

On the fourth day of his reign, King John the Cute gathered his courage and went to the prince’s bath. There he saw Prince Charming the Fifth bathe in black and dirty waters.

King John the Cute could not stand the sight of it.

“Clear the bath!” he ordered the servants. “Take out the water! Bring no more water for the prince’s bath!”

Once the bath was cleared of water, the prince looked around. “Who are you?” he asked King John the Cute.

“My name is John the Cute,” said King John the Cute.

“Pfah! That is a stupid name! You look more like John the Ugly!”

The king ignored that statement and continued, “You have been in this bath for three years.”

“What! Outrageous!” the prince shouted.

“You are now twenty years old.”

“What! Ridiculous! I am seventeen!”

“Look at yourself. You are now twenty and grown. Your father, the king, asked to bathe you in stale water so that you would want to remain in the bath until your old age.”

“What! Outrageous!” the prince shouted. “Take me to see my father!”

“Your father,” King John the Cute said as calmly as he could, “died a few days ago.”

“What! Impossible!”

“I am sorry for your loss, but it is true. Many things have happened while you bathed. Upon his deathbed, he named me as his successor. I am now King John the Cute.”

“What! Outrageous! Outrageous! Outrageous!” Now the prince began to stomp his foot. “I want to be king! I want to be king! I want to be king!”

“It is not what your father wished.”

For the first time, Prince Charming the Fifth looked at King John the Cute and saw him for what he was. The prince squinted and hate filled his eyes. “You are responsible for this! You poisoned my father against me! You had him put me in a bath for three years!”

“That is not true. I freed you from the bath.”

“Liar! Liar! Liar! Make me king! Make me king! Make me king!”

King John the Cute knew this would happen. But he also knew that the prince was spoiled and had never behaved responsibly in his life. Therefore, he had a plan that took this into account.

“Being king is a big responsibility,” King John the Cute said. “Prove to me that you are responsible, and I will make you king. There is a family on the outskirts of Capital City that needs a babysitter for their two-year-old. If you babysit the child responsibly for seven days, I will make you king.”

“Really?” Prince Charming the Fifth was astounded. “You would make me king?”

King John the Cute nodded. “Be responsible for a child for seven days and I will make you king.”

Prince Charming the Fifth knew that taking care of children was easy, so he agreed. But during the first hour, the child wanted to eat and the child needed to be cleaned and the child wanted to drink and the child did not care at all about what Prince Charming the Fifth wanted.

After one hour, Prince Charming the Fifth returned to the king. “Being a babysitter is stupid. I want to be a king, not a babysitter. Make me king! Make me king! Make me king!”

King John the Cute thought about this and said, “Being a king means being in charge of a lot more than a baby. In the middle of Capital City there is a restaurant. I will put you in charge of that restaurant for a week. Be in charge of a restaurant for a week, and I will make you king and put you in charge of the land.”

“Really?”

King John the Cute nodded.

Prince Charming the Fifth knew that taking care of a restaurant was easy, so he agreed. But during the first hour, the customers complained, the chef demanded more pay, the food was bad, the plates were dirty, and everybody wanted something from the prince and no one cared about what the prince wanted.

After exactly one hour, the prince returned to the king. “Running a restaurant is for children! I am not a child. I deserve to be king. Make me king! Make me king! Make me king!”

King John the Cute thought about this and said, “Being a king means being in charge of many many people. I will make you in charge of Capital City. If you can be mayor for seven days, I will make you king of the Land of All Legends.”

Prince Charming the Fifth felt that being in charge of a city was something he could easily do. He also felt that King John the Cute was sincere in his offer, and that all he would have to do was to try for seven days.

And so he went and became mayor of Capital City. But then people complained about potholes in the street, they wanted permissions to park their dragons, they asked not to pay their taxes, and wrote in asking for greener trees. Everyone wanted something from the prince and no one even asked how he was feeling.

After fifteen minutes, the prince returned to the king. “Running a city is stupid. A city is not a country. I want to be in charge of the country! Make me king! Make me king! Make me king!”

King John the Cute thought about this request. Then he said, “I will tell you what. Since I am king, I will let you tell me what do for seven days. If you behave responsibly during seven days and make good decisions, I will step down and make you king.”

Prince Charming the Fifth thought about this and thought it was a trap.

“No! Being in charge of the land is stupid! I want to be king! Make me king! Make me king! Make me king!”

“Behave responsibly for a week, and I will make you king. I promise.”

“No! Make me king, and I will behave responsibly.”

“Behave responsibly for a week, and I will make you king.”

“Make me king, and I will behave responsibly.”

This argument continued for thirty minutes until the prince has had enough. “All right, then!” he shouted at King John the Cute. “You asked for it. I will leave now, and I will gather an army, and I will come back and I will kill you and take back my throne!”

With that, he turned around and stormed off.

King John the Cute watched Prince Charming the Fifth storm off.

The king was fearful for his own future. And yet he was certain that his decision to release the prince from the prison his father had put him in was the right choice. King John the Cute also knew that only time will tell how wise his decision had been.

This has been fateful tale of how Prince Charming the Fifth began his quest to destroy King John the Cute.

(To be continued on Tuesday…)

The Emoticon Generation by Guy Hasson

The Emoticon Generation

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “‘Tickling Butterflies’ – The Prince Who Wanted Responsibility”

  1. ‘Tickling Butterflies’ – The Trials of Prince Charming the Fifth | Guy Hasson's Imagination Says:

    […] Shadowy Secret introduced himself to the prince, then said, “What are you doing? Have you not promised revenge upon King John the Cute?” […]

Leave a Reply

