‘Tickling Butterflies’ – The Woman Who Waited for True Love

I’m serializing my fairy tale novel, Tickling Butterflies. A new fairy tale ‘episode’ is published every Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday.

Here’s the story so far.

Enjoy the latest fairy tale:

The Woman Who Waited for True Love

(Containing the disturbing tale of a woman who waited too long.)

Upon his second day at the Happily Ever After Home for the Married, King John the Cute saw a witch sit in the woods and look at the couples.

The king approached the witch.

“Good witch,” he said. “Are you a good witch or a bad witch?”

“Alas, I am a good witch.”

“My name is King John the Cute,” said King John the Cute.

“I have heard of you… since before you were born. I am Linda of Galinda.”

King John the Cute knew then that the witch held secrets he needed to know. He sat on the grass beside the witch, and said, “What are you doing in the Happily Ever After Home for the Married? You are the only witch here, as far as I can tell.”

“It is a long and sad story,” said the witch.

“I would like to hear it.”

“Then hear it you shall, your highness.”

Around forty years ago, began Linda of Galinda, a woman named Aretha from Ibitha had turned twenty. Her parents had told her it was time to marry, but she insisted that she wanted to wait for True Love.

Five years passed, and she did not find her True Love.

Suitors began to come from all over the land, for Aretha from Ibitha was the most beautiful woman in Ibitha, and ask for her hand in marriage. But Aretha from Ibitha did not think any of them were her True Love. And so she always said ‘No’.

Five more years passed, and women from all over the land, began to offer their sons and brothers and neighbors to her. But Aretha from Ibitha liked none of the men which had been offered to her. And so she always said ‘No’.

Five more years passed, and Aretha from Ibitha had turned thirty-five. She was beginning to grow afraid that she would never find her True Love, and so she would never have a child. And Aretha from Ibitha wanted a child dearly.

And yet, she felt she had more time. So she waited five more years. Now Aretha from Ibitha had turned forty, and still she felt she did not find her True Love. At forty, she was even more afraid that the age in which she could give birth to children would pass her by.

And so, out of desperation, she went to a witch: to me.

I had only just become a good witch, and I have been cast out of my town for that transformation. I had been wandering the land until I had settled in a spot in a forest outside of Ibitha. There I had set up shop, using my magic to read people’s fortunes and create my own.

And so Aretha from Ibitha came to me, paid two gold coins, and asked the question she most wanted answered, “Linda from Galinda,” she said, “would I ever find the man I am looking for?”

I said, “I will give you the most honest answer you will hear. But first, answer a few questions. One: Would you rather be with no man than with the wrong man?”

Aretha from Ibitha looked deep into wishes, and answered, “Yes, I would. I would rather be with no man than with the wrong man.”

“Question two,” I said. “Would you have a child with a wrong man?”

Aretha from Ibitha looked even deeper into her own wishes. Then she answered, “No, I would not. I would never have a child with a man who is not the right man.”

“Question three,” I said. “Would you risk having no child?”

Aretha from Ibitha looked deep and wide into her own thoughts and memories and emotions. Then, after sixty-six minutes and sixty-six seconds, she answered, “Yes, I would. I would risk having no child.”

“Thank you for answering my questions honestly,” I said, having learned only recently that honesty was good. “I will then give you the most honest answer I can, and it is this: It does not matter what I tell you. If I tell you that he will come, you will wait until he comes and you will not have a child until then. However, if I tell you that he will never come, you will still not have a child with the wrong man and you will wait nonetheless, in the hope that I am wrong. Since it does not matter what I tell you, I will tell you nothing.”

Her face fell, not realizing the wisdom of my words. Still, I continued, “However, for your two gold coins I will give you this.” I offered her a magic suitcase. “This is a magic suitcase,” I said. “Only if you ever find the right man, and if you understand that he is the right man, and if he understands that you are the right woman, only if that ever happens, only then must you open the suitcase.”

She nodded and thanked me, and left disappointed.

Aretha from Ibitha waited five more years, and felt that her True Love had not appeared. By this time, she was growing older, and all the young lads that had come to her door, were now knocking on younger women’s doors.

Aretha from Ibitha waited five more years. By now she was fifty, and the age in which she could bear children had just passed. And still she did not feel she had met her True Love.

Aretha from Ibitha cried and cried. She cried for two years, then she sulked for another year, then she cried for two more years. When she was done crying, she looked up, and her True Love was standing there, offering his hand, wondering why she was crying. His name was Smithy from Corinthy.

It took them both but a day to realize that he was her True Love and that she was his True Love.

Once they realized this, they rushed back to her home, and to the suitcase I had given her. She opened the suitcase gently. Inside, she found an egg as big as her arm. On the egg was a note stuck with the power of magic. The note said, ‘BREAK EGG IN CASE OF TRUE LOVE’.

Together, they broke the egg.

Inside, they discovered a little baby girl, only a minute old. The baby girl was the cutest baby girl that both of them had ever seen. And to her forehead was a note, stuck with the power of magic. The note said, ‘PROPERTY OF ARETHA FROM IBITHA AND SMITHY FROM CORINTHY’.

Then the magic on the note faded, and the note fell to the earth and vanished.

“And this has been the blissful tale of the woman who waited for True Love,” Linda of Galinda finished her tale.

“That is a beautiful story,” said King John the Cute. “Are they here, in the Happily Ever After Home for the Married?”

“They are quite far from here,” answered the witch. “They are busy living happily ever after at their own home. And they are also busy raising their child. This is not a good place for a child.”

“I don’t understand, then,” said the king. “You said this story explained why you were here.”

“Ah, that.”

Linda of Galinda moved aside, and revealed that leaning against her own chair was a suitcase. “This is my suitcase,” she explained. “I am also waiting for my True Love. I have never met him, although I have waited for seventy years. Although I am getting old in years, I am hopeful. In the meantime, my child is slowly coming into existence in the suitcase. When I find my True Love, my boy will be ready to come out.”

King John the Cute nodded, and to himself he thought that this has been the second story today about a woman who waited for True Love.

He changed the subject, “Linda of Galinda, you say you have heard of me since before I was born. You were an evil witch, and perhaps you know a few secrets about magic and the Land of All Legends. I need to know those secrets and I need to know what you know about me and why.”

Linda from Galinda nodded. “I am a good witch, now. And I know you are trying to save the Land of All Legends from a great, big danger. I will help you and tell you what I know.”

This has been the first disturbing tale, out of three, that Linda of Galinda told King John the Cute on that day.

Now read on, and you will find the second story told by Linda of Galinda.

(To be continued on Thursday…)

The Emoticon Generation by Guy Hasson

The Emoticon Generation

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

