‘Tickling Butterflies’ – The Revolving Door

Are you searching the Tickling Butterflies fairy tales for Easter Eggs? You can have a fairy tale written about you in the Tickling Butterflies universe!

 

Back to the story. Here’s the story so far. And now it continues:

 

The Revolving Door

(Containing a baffling tale of how death has changed over the centuries.)

 

“My fourth question to you is this,” King John the Cute spoke. All around him, the ministers, advisors, and general help listened closely, fascinated by the bargain struck between King John the Cute and Death.

Death listened closely.

“When I first met you, Death,” said the king, “we raced each other. When we began that race, you said that we have raced before. Explain yourself.”

Death considered the king’s question. Then, after forty four seconds, he said, “I have answered enough of your questions. I will not answer this one.”

“I have no recollection of having met you before. I have no recollection of any such race. How is it that you do? Tell me that tale.”

“If you do not remember it, King John the Cute, perhaps it was not important,” Death said bitterly.

“You said you had won that race. Who died when this happened?” the king insisted.

“I shall tell you nothing of that tale,” said Death. “Ask another question, if you must.”

King John the Cute saw Death’s patience grow short, and decided to try and ask as many answers as possible before Death decided he has had enough.

“My fifth question to you is this,” said the king. “Is the Original Monster dead?”

“The Original Monster has never appeared on my list and I have never claimed his soul,” answered Death solemnly. “He is older than all the creatures now alive in the Land of All Legends, and yet he has more life than any creature I have ever seen, including those who would live forever,” Death aimed his last words at Benjamin Miller, looking the orphan from another world in the eye.

“I have a question for Death,” Benjamin Miller said suddenly. “In fact, I have two.”

“Ask your questions,” said the king.

“I do not like this bargain,” muttered Death.

The king nodded to Benjamin Miller, who then spoke loudly, “The first question is for myself. Is Sylvia Fo dead?”

“Young orphan boy,” answered Death, “I have never claimed the soul of any creature who has come from another land,” as he said this, Death’s eyes moved from Benjamin Miller to Minister Vazir. A dark chill ran through Minister Vazir, a man with no memory of his past. Death’s eyes glided back to Benjamin Miller. “The names of the Elsewhere People, such as yourself, have never appeared on my list. And even when one of you dies, as your friend Ochi Moetski did, his soul remains unclaimed by me. For you things work differently. In answer to your question, I do not know what happened to Sylvia Fo. She may be dead. She may be alive.”

Benjamin Miller swallowed hard, then continued. “My next question serves the king in his quest. Everyone here except Death and myself is too young to remember. Until about five hundred years ago, death was not as final as it is today. Isn’t that right, Death?”

Death looked down and was silent.

“What are you referring to?” asked King John the Cute.

“Back during the first hundred years to my stay in this land,” said Benjamin Miller. “Death would claim someone’s soul, take that soul to the Afterdeath, and then, a short time later, that person would return, quite unharmed. Take, for example, Little Red Riding Hood. The Big, Bad Wolf ate her grandmother, whose name was Very Big Red Riding Hood. Then he ate Little Red Riding Hood. But then, when the Hunter came to save them, they were both fine, even though they had died.

“Back when I came to the Land of All Legends, people were regularly claimed by Death, only to return from the Afterdeath as if nothing had happened. Death and the Afterdeath were a revolving door. Death perhaps cannot enter the Afterdeath and the living cannot enter it willingly, but the living can walk out through Death’s Door quite easily.

“But then something happened. I do not know what or how. But suddenly, creatures and stories who died, never returned. Slowly, over the years, there were less and less creatures in the land. Perhaps this is part of the sickness in the land that you, King John the Cute, are trying to discover. My question to Death is: What had changed and why?”

Death squirmed in place. For a moment, there was a glint of fear in his eyes.

“I only answer the king’s questions,” answered Death.

“Consider that my question, then,” said King John the Cute. “Why is death no longer a revolving door? What has changed and why?”

Death looked away, knowing that all could see there was now a spark of fear in his eyes. Once he had conquered his fear, he looked back. “I shall not answer your question.”

“We have a bargain.”

“I no longer care about the bargain,” answered Death. “I have answered enough questions. You must choose for yourself, whether it is enough to uphold your part of the bargain or not. This question or any future ones, I refuse to answer.”

Death turned around, and began to leave. “Hold on,” a woman’s voice surprised everyone.

Everyone turned and saw a blindfolded woman with a broken heart step out of the shadows. In her right hand, she held Al the Average by the throat.

I have a question for Death,” said Sarah O’Connell.

This has been the revealing story in which Sarah O’Connell returned to Death’s life.

 

(To be continued on Thursday…)

Remember: Find the Easter Eggs in the fairy tales and have a fairy tale written about you.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

