‘Tickling Butterflies’ – Return of the Foreseeing Propheseers

Tickling Butterflies is an epic fantasy, containing 128 fairy tales that together create one huge story.

Here’s the story so farThe story continues:

 

Return of the Foreseeing Propheseers

(Containing a terrible telling of a terrifying truth.)

 

Chariot adored King John the Cute. He had felt so from the first time the two had met, back when both were young and innocent. John the Cute, at the time only a boy and not a king, had helped save the small, trapped cloud who had rained too much and could not rejoin his family.

“John the Cute,” the cloud had said at the time. “You have earned a friend for life. If ever I can repay you with a favor, if ever I can help you in any way, I will.”

Years later, when both had grown, John the Cute had become king. In one of his first acts, he had summoned the cloud and asked him for his help in the immense task of saving the Land of All Legends. The cloud agreed. In doing so, he became the king’s chariot, and the king decreed that the cloud’s name from now on would be Chariot.

Now Chariot served the king. It was his pleasure to do so, and so he claimed, “This is not the favor I owe you for rescuing me many years ago. That favor is yet to be repaid.”

As was told in the previous story in this book of legends, Chariot had completed a good deed for an old man in an empty crop field with a stone house and a steel rod. Now he turned and rose up, to return to his king.

At that same moment, the old man, known as Farmer Moozik, placed his hand on the steel rod. Lightning emerged from the ground, imprisoning Chariot and pulling him back to the ground.

“What is going on?” exclaimed Chariot. “What have you done?”

“That is a strange story,” said Farmer Moozik. “Will you stop fighting the lightning and listen?”

After a minute, Chariot stopped trying to rise. Lightning no longer appeared from the ground.

“Two days ago,” began Farmer Moozik, “I was visited by three strangers. They told me you will come. They told me you will carry King John the Cute and four more. They told me where to find you. And they told me what to do with you.”

“But how could they know?” Chariot wanted to know. “How could anyone know the future?”

“The three strangers were known as the Foreseeing Propheseers, little boy cloud. They told me of the future. And they gave me a clear task. It is my task, my dear little boy cloud, to tell you what you must do to save the Land of All Legends.”

Chariot had heard quite a lot about the Foreseeing Propheseers during his travels with King John the Cute. “What did they say?” he enquired.

“They said that to save the Land of All Legends,” Farmer Moozik said somberly, “you must help King John the Cute die.”

Chariot was astounded beyond words. In searching for them, he simply said, “That cannot be.”

“It is so, my dear boy cloud. Prince Charming the Fifth will deliver the killing blow. But you, Chariot, must keep him from continuing to live. You must help him die. Do this, and the Land of All Legends will be saved.”

“That is a lie,” cried Chariot. “I know from my travels with the king that the Foreseeing Propheseers only speak of happy futures. I know that the Foreseeing Propheseers have foretold that King John the Cute will save the Land of All Legends! I know that the Foreseeing Propheseers think King John the Cute is good for the land and not its enemy!”

“It seems, then, that you know very little,” said Farmer Moozik. He pointed at the steel stick in the ground. “They gave me this magic stick to help me imprison a cloud.”

“This is absurd! You will release me now!”

But even as Chariot began to protest, he heard the king’s voice resound through the land: “Chariot! Come! I need you!”

With all his strength and all his might, Chariot rose higher into the sky. Lightning lashed from the ground and brought Chariot lower to the ground. The more Chariot struggled, the more the lightning dragged him down.

“Chariot!” the king’s voice once more echoed everywhere on the continent. “I need you! Come!”

“My king needs me!” cried Chariot, struggling.

“Your king needs you to help him die,” answered Farmer Moozik.

“When I don’t come, they will search for me and they will find me.”

“The three men put a spell on the mountains surrounding my farm,” said Farmer Moozik. “Only you and I can see the mountains. Your friends cannot help you, for they see a sea and not a mountain. They will not step into the sea when searching to find a lost cloud.”

“Chariot!” the king’s voice echoed.

Chariot looked at Farmer Moozik in despair.

“You are stuck here with me for six months,” said the old farmer. “In six months I will tell you six stories. When I have told you all my stories, you will be ready to return to the king, because by that time you will be convinced that you must help him die.”

“That will never be!” cried Chariot. “I will never betray my king! Release me now!”

“Chariot!” the king’s voice rang once more through the River Red Continent.

“The king needs me!” Chariot pleaded.

“The king,” answered Farmer Moozik, “needs you to help him die. We have done enough for today, little boy cloud. Make yourself comfortable.”

Farmer Moozik entered his stone house and left Chariot to ponder his new situation, even as the king’s voice continued to echo through the land.

This has been the story that explains how King John the Cute came to be stranded in the River Red Continent and how Chariot learned that he must help his friend die.

 

 

(To be continued on Sunday…)
 
Win a chance to have a fairy tale written about you in the Tickling Butterflies universe!
 
The Emoticon Generation

The Emoticon Generation

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

