‘Tickling Butterflies’ – The Fallen Star

Tickling Butterflies is an epic fantasy, containing 128 fairy tales that together create one huge story.

Here’s the story so farThe story continues:

 

The Fallen Star

(Containing a revealing tale about the nature of the stars in the sky.)

 

I will tell you one of the great secrets of the magic world, said Minister Vazir. This is a story that is known only to a few. It is the story of fallen stars.

For many centuries, scientists did not know why stars fall. The stars are so far away, and none of the stars stop to talk. No one knew where the stars came from. No one knew where the falling stars go.

Tom Talonface, a man who would later become a great magician, went out every night to look at fallen stars. Every time a star fell, he made a wish to know why stars fall and where they go.

Then, one day, a star fell through the sky as Tom Talonface watched. The star began its journey at the top of the sky. It glided down beautifully. Then, at the very last minute, when it was about to go over the horizon, it seemed to hesitate. A split second later, it missed its target. The fallen star suddenly skidded, not down, but sideways, all the way across the mountains in the horizon. It skidded, then slowly came to a stop.

Tom Talonface performed a magic spell and was transported to the top of the mountain, where the fallen star stood. The fallen star was crying.

“Fallen Star,” Tom Talonface said. “Why is your face fallen? Why is your mood fallen?”

“I was frightened,” said the Fallen Star. “At that very last minute, I was afraid to complete my jump, and then I missed it.”

“That is all right,” said Tom Talonface. “That happens to me. It happens to everyone.”

“But now,” said the Fallen Star, “I have to climb my way slowly up the entire sky, and then make the jump again. That can take an entire year. And maybe I will be afraid again and I will have to do it over and over and over.”

“Do not let your mood fall so,” said Tom Talonface. “I will be with you and I will talk to you as you climb up the sky. Friends take away fear. I am sure your next jump will be a successful one.”

The Fallen Star thanked Tom Talonface and began to climb. “On the way,” said the magician, “perhaps I can ask you where fallen stars come from and where they go. I have always wanted to know.”

“It is not a big secret,” said the Fallen Star as he climbed. “Over every horizon there is a big sea of fallen stars. When we fall, we fill that sea. And when that sea is brimming with shiny, little stars, the stars turn into a beautiful animal. Sometimes we become a fish. Sometimes we become a hunter. Sometimes we become a bird. And then that animal leaves the sea and returns to the sky, where it stays forever. That is why the stars make shapes in the sky.”

“And where do the fallen stars come from?” asked Tom Talonface.

“That I do not know for sure,” said the Fallen Star. “I only came to life when I fell. Looking up at where I came from, I think I saw an upside tree, a tree full of stars, and a giant creature shaking the tree loose of stars. But that is all I know. I fell quickly and lost sight of the tree.”

“Thank you for telling me this,” said Tom Talonface thankfully.

“Look! You helped me pass the time and now I am again on top of the sky.”

Tom Talonface and the Fallen Star bid farewell to each other, and the Fallen Star let himself fall. He fell down towards the horizon. And then, at the very last minute, he closed his eyes and fell beyond it.

Three years later, in the sky appeared more stars in the shape of a tree. They are there to this very day. And till the day he died, Tom Talonface swore that every night one of those stars winked at him.

And that, King John the Cute, is the story that explains why there are stars in the sky.

King John the Cute nodded. “That is important to know. Thank you for revealing the secrets of magic. Now tell me more.”

 

(To be continued on Sunday…)
 
You can win a chance to have a fairy tale written about you in the Tickling Butterflies universe!
Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

